Logo Position




Community Relations Committee

logo facebook


Public Notice of New Committee

 Easthampton Community Relations Committee


The City of Easthampton is now accepting applications for prospective members of the newly formed Community Relations Committee, a formally established part of our municipal government.  The Committee grew out of an effort by Mayor LaChapelle and Police Chief Alberti to more directly address issues facing the city alongside the U.S. Department of Justice, Community Relations Service’s City SPIRIT program, designed to help communities facilitate such conversations.  The committee shall be “…concerned with preserving a welcoming community and promoting an atmosphere of mutual understanding and cooperation among all residents…” 

The Community Relations Committee will include 11 members, will have open, public, formal meetings and be tasked with the prioritization and implementation of several solutions developed by the community members during the City-SPIRIT kickoff.

The ordinance creating this committee was offered by Mayor LaChapelle and adopted by the Easthampton City Council unanimously on July 11th, 2018 amending Easthampton Ordinances, Chapter 2, Article III adding a new Div. 11 entitled “Easthampton Community Relations Committee.”  Mayor LaChapelle signed the ordinance on July 16th, 2018.


Main Phone Number 413-529-1400
Municipal Building 50 Payson Avenue, Easthampton, MA 01027