Forms & Motor Vehicle Reports
Motor Vehicle Crash Reports
Where a motor vehicle collision has resulted in personal injury or property damage over $1,000, a police officer will file a Commonwealth of Massachusetts Motor Vehicle Crash Police Report.
Each motorist involved in a crash must also file a Motor Vehicle Crash Operator Report. Following a crash, operator exchange forms can be picked up in the lobby of the Public Safety Complex and used by each motorist to complete their Operator Crash Report.
Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90 Section 26 requires a person who was operating a motor vehicle involved in a crash in which any person was killed, injured, or in which there was damage in excess of $1,000 to any one vehicle or other property, to complete and file a Crash Operator Report with the Registrar of Motor Vehicles within five days after such crash (unless the person is physically incapable of doing so due to incapacity). The person completing the report must also send a copy of the report to the police department having jurisdiction on the way where the crash occurred.
If the operator is incapacitated but is not the vehicle's owner, the owner is required to file the crash report within the five days based on his/her knowledge and information obtained about the crash. The Registrar may require the owner or operator to supplement the report and he/she can revoke or suspend the license of any person violating any provision of this legal requirement. A police department is required to accept a report filed by an owner or operator whose vehicle has been damaged in a crash in which another person unlawfully left the scene even if damage to the vehicle does not exceed $1,000.
Where to Send Completed Crash Operator Reports
- Mail or deliver one copy to the local police department or state police in the city or town where the crash occurred
- Mail one copy to your insurance company
- Mail one copy to the Registry of Motor Vehicles at the following address:
Registry of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 55889
Boston, MA 02205
- Business and Residential Alarm and Contact Form (PDF)
- Change of Address Notification (PDF)
- CORI Request (PDF)
- Easthampton Police Voluntary Statement Form (PDF)
- Emergency Contact Form for Children with Special Needs (PDF)
- Emergency Contact Form for Family Members (PDF)
- Firearms ID Form (PDF)
- Internal Affairs Complaint Report (PDF)
- Private Tow Form (PDF)
- Registry of Motor Vehicles Complaint of Improper Operation (PDF)
- Request for Public Records (PDF)
- Trespass Notice (PDF)
- Vicious and Barking Dog Complaint Form (PDF)